I HAVE MOVED

Icon

find us at www.shawnwoodwrites.com

A great Lesson from Ed Young goofin’ on Joel Olsteen

Just saw a post from the new Edyoungblog.com  that really teaches a great lesson on how we should live in the Kingdom.

I will link to the post at the end…don’t want you leaving me early.

I owe a great deal to Fellowship Church  and Ed Young.  I was at Fellowship During a time in my life where my wife and I were really searching for what God wanted with our lives and were on the verge of burn-out from traditional church  that we found Fellowship Church.

We started attending the church after a recommendation and after about a year I became an intern with the high school ministry staff. (actually I begged Pace Hartfield to hire me)  Now looking back nearly seven years later I am man enough to admit that I was not very good at my job there.  I was soaking in and learning and I definitely came away the winner having learned a ton.

It was at Fellowship Church that my heart was shaped for ministry.  Some may think that model is about flash and dash, lights and camera, big special music etc., but if that is what you think has made Fellowship successful you are missing the boat.  What I actually learned at Fellowship was a model that put reaching people for Jesus at a premium.  I saw in Ed Young a man who believed the weekend was what mattered and that reaching people for Jesus was the main thing.   He showed it with everything he did.

So now to the link.  It seems like a lot of blogs are a place for Pastors to knock on other Pastors.  Put down styles and methods because they are different and even some how claim to know the hearts of other men of God.  One of the things that I have always appreciated about Ed Young Jr. is that though he is a wild dresser, a intense and confident leader and a “character”, (some take all these as prideful) but he has never to my knowledge put down or knocked on the methods or styles of other Pastors.  Having sat through about 156 weekends at Fellowship I know that Ed has very specific theology.  He is actually a quite studied scholar and I know that he disagrees with some of the finer minutia of other Pastors Theology, but I have never heard him say a negative word about another Pastor.  In fact, the opposite is true in that he invites people different from himself to his conferences.  That is a trait to be sought after.

When I am tempted to make judments about men I don’t even know who have wives, little boys and little girls and people who they love and love them, I hope and pray I can remember what I learned from Ed.

So after that long sermon – here is the link of Ed goofin’ on Joel.

Filed under: Church Experience, Spiritual Thought

3 Responses

  1. Much agreed. Good Post.

  2. Chris says:

    I knew Joel a bit from the basketball courts in Houston, and he is the real deal. Nice guy with a HUGE heart. That’s good stuff.

  3. […] your father… 08Apr08 Really appreciated this post by Shawn Wood of Seacoast […]

Leave a comment