I HAVE MOVED

Icon

find us at www.shawnwoodwrites.com

I used to be a racist, now I am not.

I have a confession to make.  I grew up in a very small rural town that was deeply divided by race.  Over the last few years of my life I have realized that there was a level of racism that was “just accepted” in my town, school and perhaps even some of my family.

When I was seventeen years old Jesus chose to save me and just like he always does, he saved all of me – even the dirty, lousy racist parts.

I went from being that guy who prided himself in having some “black friends” to just having friends.  I went from being a guy that made excuses for some of the travesties that people in our country have committed against people of differing races because it was “all they knew” to being appalled.  I went from being a boy who thought it was “just the way it is” to a man who realizes that it can be so much better.

As I sat and watched the results pour in last night I was struck by the Holy Spirit by how very much he has changed me in that I was truly proud to see that in my generation an African-American become the leader of our country.

Now, I have made it pretty clear on this blog where I stand on the issue of life when it comes to politics and until he proves me otherwise (and I will be praying daily that he does) President Obama and I could not disagree more on this issue.

However, I hope that I have also made it pretty clear that my allegiance is to Christ and He is my King and ruler and here is the command from the King:

“Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God.  Consequently, he who rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves.” Romans 13:1-2

So it is with this on my heart that I comitt:

…to pray for President Obama and his precious family.  They need God’s wisdom, strength and guidance.

…to speak out against anyone who would make racist remarks about this election, this president or the people who supported him.

…to remember that Jesus did not win a single election, was voted against by the majority and yet still reigns and is my King.

I pray that the Christ-followers on both sides of this election can put aside our differences and not throw the spiritual pearls of our community together down to the swine that is the dirty and nasty game of politics (not politicians we love politicians because Jesus does, just the game of politics)

Filed under: Church Experience, Random, Spiritual Thought

12 Responses

  1. Faye says:

    I so agree, Shawn! My prayer is that we followers of Christ recognize that God is still God, there are still tons of lost folks out there who need Jesus and our commission has not changed. It’s time to get to work!

  2. Michele Cordray says:

    Wow Shawn. You made me feel better. Thanks for the inspiring words.

  3. Greg Shore says:

    Well said. And I grew up in the same circumstances and had the same excuses. No matter how you feel about the outcome, praying for our President-elect and his family and maintaining our allegiance to Jesus Christ is the way to go.

  4. lindy says:

    Nice post Shawn–you aticulated a lot of the things I’m feeling today. I prayed for Obama last night–and I prayed for my 17 month old’s future at the same time.

  5. Malcolm says:

    Great Blog. I agree 100%. As an Afro-Americian I have been looked at strange and talked about for my support of Mccain. But no matter who’s in the white house life must go on an we as christians must press on to the high mark we have been called to in Christ Jesus.

  6. Bubba says:

    Great post, Shawn. I come from a very similar background it sounds like.

    I have also been convicted by Romans 13 with respect to wordly leadership. It’s all in God’s plans and I strive to be obedient to God.

    Keep the good stuff coming.

  7. jess says:

    thanks for posting this.

  8. James H says:

    What a great post. It’s amazing what Christ can do with any of us – especially those of us who don’t merit His mercy.

    Thanks for this – I really enjoyed it.

    James H
    http://serviceafol.blogspot.com/2008/11/morning-after.html

  9. Ava Semerau says:

    Brilliant and necessary – a message so many of us on both sides of the issues and aisle need to hear and live. Thanks, Shawn. AVA

  10. Kevin Davis says:

    I think we all have prejudices within us that we must wrestle with and submit to Christ.

  11. joanna says:

    Great post.

    Like you, i have serious concerns with Obama on the issue of life. Despite that, i think something worth celebrating happened. It was amazing to watch the telecast with an African-American friend and see his joy at what had taken place. I am praying that this will prove inspiring to people from groups that have been disadvantaged all around the world.

  12. Emily says:

    Great post, Shawn. We should all commit to those three things. It’s refreshing to see Christians responding to the election results with a Christlike attitude.

Leave a Reply

